Brandon Burlsworth Award

Brandon Burlsworth.jpg

In 2010 a trophy was named after Brandon Burlsworth  an All-American football player  from the University of Arkansas who began his career as a walk-on.  I think the University of Texas should also honor the best walk-on every 5th year. If there had been such an award in 1968, Stan Mauldin would have received it. Books, newspapers, and magazines regularly chronicle the best of these football fairy tale walk-ons so the Longhorn SID department at Texas needs to also celebrate the best Longhorn walk-on.

Winners of the Burlsworth Award.

2010 Sean Bedford Georgia Tech
2011 Austin Davis QB Southern Miss

2012 Matt McGloin QB Penn State
2013 Jared Abbrederis WR Wisconsin

2014 Justin Hardy WR East Carolina

2015 and 2016 Baker Mayfield QB Oklahoma is a faux winner of this award. He was only technically a walk-on. He did not suffer the hardship of a true walk-ons.
2017 Luke Falk QB Washington State

2018 Hunter Renfrow WR Clemson